The Rx Consultant

State CE Requirements

States Renewal Term (Years) Renewal Date Even or Odd Years CE Hour Requirement Live CE Requirement Special Topic Requirement Notes
Alabama 2 31-Dec Even 15 N/A Notes
Alaska 2 30-Jun Even 30 N/A Notes
Arizona 2 31-Oct N/A 30 N/A At least 0.3 CEUs shall be pharmacy law subjects. Notes
Arkansas 2 31-Dec Odd 30 12 Notes
California 2 Cyclical N/A 30 N/A A pharmacist must complete one hour of ongoing continuing education focused on immunizations and vaccines from an approved provider once every two years. Notes
Colorado 2 31-Oct Odd 24 N/A Notes
Connecticut 2 31-Jan Even 15 5 At least one (1) of the fifteen (15) credits must be related to pharmacy law. Notes
Delaware 2 30-Sep Even 30 N/A Notes
District of Columbia 2 28-Feb N/A 40 10 At least two (2) hours in Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) training and at least two (2) hours in medication/dispensing errors training during the two (2) year period preceding the date the license expires. Notes
Florida 2 30-Sep Odd 28 10 Two (2) of those hours must be a Board-approved course on medication errors. Two (2) of those hours must be a Board-approved course on controlled substances. Notes
Georgia 2 31-Dec Even 30 N/A Three (3) hours must be in emergency disaster preparedness as approved by the Board.  
Guam 2 30-Sep Odd 15 N/A  
Hawaii 2 31-Dec Odd 30 N/A  
Idaho 1 30-Jun Last Day of Birth Month 15 3 One (1) of the CPE hours obtained must address federal, state, or local law affecting the practice of pharmacy. Notes
Illinois 2 31-Mar Even 30 N/A  
Indiana 2 30-Jun Even 30 N/A Notes
Iowa 2 30-Jun N/A+D17 30 N/A 50% must be a drug therapy related activity. 2 hours must be pharmacy law. 2 hours patient or medication safety. Notes
Kansas 2 30-Jun N/A 30 N/A  
Kentucky 1 28-Feb N/A 15 N/A  
Louisiana 1 31-Dec N/A 15 3 Notes
Maine 1 31-Dec N/A 15 N/A  
Maryland 2 Last Day of Birth Month N/A 30 2 One (1) hour of CE must be on the topic of medication errors.  
Massachusetts 2 31-Dec Even 40 N/A Of the twenty (20) hours required per year, at least two (2) hours shall be in the area of pharmacy law.  
Michigan 2 30-Jun N/A 30 10 One (1) hour must relate to pain and symptom management.  
Minnesota 2 1-Mar N/A 30 N/A  
Mississippi 1 31-Dec N/A 15 2 Notes
Missouri 2 31-Oct N/A 30 N/A  
Montana 1 30-Jun N/A 15 5  
Nebraska 2 1-Jan Even 30 N/A  
Nevada 2 31-Oct Odd 30 N/A Notes
New Hampshire 1 31-Dec N/A 15 5  
New Jersey 2 30-Apr Odd 30 10 Three (3) CE credits must be in pharmacy law¾ Notes
New Mexico 2 Last Day of Birth Month N/A 30 10 2 patient safety hours and 2 hours in the safe use of opioids. These 2 hours in safe use of opioids may also be used for patient safety if indicated by the ACPE number.  
New York 3 Variable N/A 45 N/A Every pharmacist is required to complete three (3) hours in the area of strategies used to reduce medication errors.  
North Carolina 1 31-Dec N/A 15 10  
North Dakota 1 1-Mar N/A 15 N/A  
Ohio 2 15-Sep N/A 40 N/A At least 0.3 CEUs (three (3) hours) must be in pharmacy law and 0.2 CEUs (two (2) hours) must be in patient safety or medication error prevention. No carry over of credit is allowed. Effective Sept. 2019. Notes
Oklahoma 1 Last Day of Birth Month N/A 15 3  
Oregon 2 30-Jun N/A 30 N/A 2 hours pharmacy and drug law & 2 hours patient safety or medication error prevention. Notes
Pennsylvania 2 30-Sep Even 30 N/A 2 hours of patient safety. Notes
Puerto Rico 3 Variable N/A 35 N/A 3 hours infection control.  
Rhode Island 1 30-Jun N/A 15 5 Notes
South Carolina 1 30-Apr N/A 15 6 Notes
South Dakota 1 30-Sep N/A 12 N/A  
Tennessee 2 Cyclical N/A 30 15  
Texas 2 Last Day of Birth Month N/A 30 N/A One (1) hour must be related to Texas pharmacy laws and rules.  
Utah 2 30-Sep Odd 30 12 One hour in law and ethics. Notes
Vermont 2 31-Jul Odd 30 10 Notes
Virginia 1 31-Dec N/A 15 N/A  
Washington 1 Birth Date N/A 15 N/A  
West Virginia 2 30-Jun N/A 30 6 3 hours pain management. Notes
Wisconsin 2 31-May Even 30 N/A  
Wyoming 1 31-Dec N/A 12 N/A